Business Plan: Biographies


What should I do now?

What should I do now?

As we saw a recentt post,, knowing where we have been historically is important because it helps us understand whether or not we are congruent with our mission statement as well as our goals and intentions. Another area where this is useful is in the area of writing biographies in our various communications and about pages. Having our biographies displayed in our working business plan will make it easier to know what we have on our various documentations, both online and in any physical documentation that we have out there. It also helps us synchronize our information throughout our media presence. Here are some examples of various biographies that I have out there right now.


Here are some places where I need to be sure to have congruency in my biographies:

Press Biography:  Whenever I deal with the press or traditional media in general, it is important that I maintain the same information throughout and thereby building my brand through my information. In written and oral communication (articles, radio or television), I remind myself to be sure to include the who, what, why, where, and how. I also try to include my contact information as part of my press biography. Depending on the circumstances, I may include address and phone number, but usually, I limit it to just my website which gives further instructions on how to contact me.

Website Biography: My website biography is written on my about page. Here I include my overall profile of who we I am and what my work is all about. In addition to my story, I include my contact information as well as links to my social media sites.

My Third Person Biography

Here is an example of my biography written in third person. I base much of my press biographies on this third person biography.

Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing was started when the first book of The Locket Saga: When God Turned His Head was published in 2010 which Donna Brown under the pseudonym Cygnet Brown self-published. Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues was written in 2012. In 2013, Cygnet Brown’s first nonfiction book Simply Vegetable Gardening was published. The most recent title, A Coward’s Solace was published in August 2015. Cygnet Brown has been featured in newspapers and interviewed on radio.

My First Person Biography

Sometimes rather than using a more professional sounding third person biography, I write a more casual, personal sounding first person biography. Here is the example of a first person biography.

I am Donna Brown, publisher and Cygnet Brown Author at Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing. I started this company when I learned the advantages of self-publishing over traditional publishing contracts. I liked the idea of the freedom that self-publishing offers.  I write publish books for my readers. I have a hands-on, face-to-face relationship with my readers. I first wrote When God Turned His Head of the Locket Saga in 2010 followed by Soldiers Don’t Cry in 2012 and A Coward’s Solace in 2015. I also wrote a nonfiction gardening book called Simply Vegetable Gardening in 2013. I have been featured in newspapers and interviewed on online radio.

Social Media Biography

Short Biography-This biography I use at the end of every blog post that I write. This biography can also be called a signature line and can be used at the end of all e-mail correspondence as well.

Long Biography A long biography includes everything included in a short social media biography, but this also includes more details about the history of my writing career and publishing business. It goes not only into what happened, but why it happened. The long biography can be as long or as short as I want it. It could even be as indepth as a daily journal. It all depends upon how much work I can devote to it.

IMG_8330 final copy

Donna Brown is an ordained minister. As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues, and most recently, A Coward’s Solace, Book III of the Locket Saga.For more information about Cygnet Brown and her book, check out her website at .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: