Self-Publishing Executive Summary

What should I do now?

From the Business Desk of Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing

During the past two months I have been discussing writing a business plan. I said at the beginning of September I mentioned the Executive Summary is the first portion of the business plan and gives a summary of what is in the rest of the business plan. Here I am showing my executive summary and using it as a review of what we have covered over the past two months.


Business Description and Vision

Mission Statement

The mission of Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing is to write, publish, and market books that encourage, inspire, educate, and enlighten. “The Books Folks ‘Swan’ to read.”

Vision Statement

Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing is destined to be the most sought after publishing enterprise through its uniquely created books that inspire, educate and enlighten. Marketed in such a way that it benefits writer and reader alike.

Business History

Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing was started when the first book of The Locket Saga: When God Turned His Head was published in 2010 which Donna Brown under the pseudonym Cygnet Brown self-published. Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues was written in 2012. In 2013, Cygnet Brown’s first nonfiction book Simply Vegetable Gardening was published. The most recent title, A Coward’s Solace was published. Cygnet Brown has been featured in newspapers and interviewed on radio.

Market Definition


52 percent of all books sold are sold outside brick and mortar bookstores. Eight to Eleven thousand publishers enter the field every year. However, the average number of copies sold at a POD company is 75 books per title. Most independent authors do not know how to promote their books. I am different in that marketing is the backbone of my publishing business.


My competition includes writers of the historical, Christian, romance in fiction for the books of the Locket Saga and gardening writers in regards to Simply Vegetable Gardening.

Target Market

Regarding the Locket Saga series, the basic demographic for a romance reader is likely be a well-educated woman between the ages of 25 and 64 living somewhere other than northeast. She is either married or has never been married. She is not likely to be divorced or widowed.
This same basic demographic holds true for Simply Vegetable gardening however, more men are interested in gardening than are interested in romance novels.

Summary of Products

Titles in the Locket Saga: When God Turned His Head (published 2010) Soldiers Don’t Cry (published 2012), A Coward’s Solace (published 2015),
Upcoming titles:
Available in: paperback, Kindle
Title: Simply Vegetable Gardening (published 2013)
Available in: paperback, Kindle, Kobe, Nook, Smashwords

Organization and Management

Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing is a sole proprietorship owned by Donna Brown and is licensed in the State of Missouri.
Donna Brown-sole proprietor, publisher, author, marketer, sales person
Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing
RR71 Box 152504
Alton, Missouri 65606

Market And Sales Strategy

Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing, offering both paperback and e-book versions of their books markets using both traditional publishing models of PR, book signings, and interviews in the real world, but also assist authors in developing their online platforms and marketing strategies through social media and mobile applications.

Financial Management

The Financial Management of Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing includes summation of results of current balance statement, income statement, and cash flow statement. as well as statements showing projections of how I expect Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing to do over the next three years. I am keeping my actual details private. Will share on a need to know basis.

IMG_8330 final copy


Donna Brown is an ordained minister. As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues, and most recently, A Coward’s Solace, Book III of the Locket Saga.For more information about Cygnet Brown and her book, check out her website at .

1 comment
  1. Billybuc said:

    You continue to lead the way through your words and your actions. Carry on and best wishes!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: