My Brand, My Fiction Series, My Business Plan


Last week we talked about branding by looking at my goals and who I am. This week, we will be looking at my fiction series  and how these books relate to me, my goals, and it  brings my brand together to reflect the ideals of my vision and my mission statement.

Consistent Genre

One of the first things I  needed to understand about your product when developing a brand concerns what genre my  books are in. People associate writers with specific genres. For instance, what genre do you associate the name “Stephen King?” What genre would you associate with John Gresham? What genre would you associate with Lawrence Block or John Steinbeck? Imagine that these people came out with fiction that was outside their genre. How would you feel? Confused? Maybe even betrayer or cheated? These individuals have developed a brand based on the type of book that they right. We call it genre, but it is basically the same concept as “brand”.

Not that we have to use the same formula for every book. None of the writers mentioned above  have what could be called  formula fiction. My fiction series, The Locket Saga is all historical Christian, Romance. every book in the series has these aspects, however, each book has other aspects as well. When God Turned His Head and my upcoming book In the Shadow of the Millpond are mysteries, Soldiers Don’t Cry and my soon to be released Sailing Under the Black Flag are action adventure. A Coward’s Solace as well as another future book The Anvil are primarily straight Historical Christian Romance.  What holds all the books together is the family connection as well as the locket that is passed from one bride to the next.

Reflects Author Mission Statement

Last year I wrote out my business plan and wrote this as my mission statement:

“The mission of Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing is to write, publish, and market books that encourage, inspire, educate, and enlighten. “The Books Folks ‘Swan’ to read.”

Every one of my books in the Locket Saga reflects this statement even though what I write is fiction. I have written every book to reflect this statement. I write every one of these novels to be entertaining, but I also wrote them to encourage others, to educate individuals concerning historical figures or events that they might not otherwise know. There is also an inspirational aspect in every one of the books of the Locket Saga. I try to build into each book a spiritual component that is not preachy and allows the reader to draw his or her own conclusions.


Reflects My Vision as a Self-Publisher

Cygnet of the Ozarks Publishing is destined to be the most sought after publishing enterprise through its uniquely created books that inspire, educate and enlighten. Books from this company are marketed in such a way that it benefits writer and reader alike. I have self-published my books because I wanted to get my books out more quickly than I might have been able to do through a traditional publisher. Although I have not yet fully realized this vision, I continue to see growth in my writing platform for this book series. Every day, more and more people are becoming fans of this series.

My Lifetime Goal concerning the Locket Saga

A new life goal that I have added is based on a goal that I heard that Walt Disney told. He said that  he intended to continue selling movies  so that I can continue making more movies. My goal is this

“I will continue marketing and selling books so that I can continue writing and publishing books”.


Equal Focus with Nonfiction Books

Just as I have gone through and compared my fiction series-The Locket Saga with my mission statement and my vision, I have also done the same with my nonfiction books. It is easier to see how these fit in with my mission statement and vision. My gardening book-Simply Vegetable Gardening as well as my other two books Help from Kelp and Using Diatomaceous Earth Around the House and Yard do entertain, educate, inspire and enlighten others of more natural ways of protecting pets, children, wildlife and self from toxic chemicals. I am also selling and marketing these books so that I have the means to continue to write and publish more books.  None of my gardening books promote the sale of harmful chemicals that harm the environment. Therefore, it is congruent with all that I stand for as an individual knowledgeable in this field.


IMG_8330 final copy

Donna Brown is pastor at Faith in God Church  1 1/2 miles south of Brandsville, Missouri on Hwy 63. Sunday services are at 10 am and Wednesday night Bible Study at 6:30 pm.   As Author Cygnet Brown, she  has recently published her first nonfiction book: Simply Vegetable Gardening: Simple Organic Gardening Tips for the Beginning Gardener

She is also the author of historical fiction series The Locket Saga. which includes When God Turned His Head and Soldiers Don’t Cry, the Locket Saga Continues, and most recently, A Coward’s Solace, Book III of the Locket Saga

Her most recent publication were two booklets Help From Kelp and Using Diatomaceous Earth Around the House and Yard. Available in paperback

.For more information about Cygnet Brown and her book, check out her website at .

  1. I hope a lot of people are reading your blog. This is invaluable information for serious writers.

    • 1authorcygnetbrown said:

      Thanks Bill!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: